Many Arrested in Jacksonville Over Florida/Georgia Weekend

Florida/Georgia weekend is always a busy time for Jacksonville. Along with all the fun, the Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office is out in force. According to the Florida Times Union, thirty-three people were arrested for various crimes in Jacksonville. In addition to the 33 arrests, 101 people were arrested or given a notice to appear for drinking under the age of 21. The criminal charges consisted of one felony, a possession of a controlled substance (cocaine) and various misdemeanors.

The most common “arrest” during any football game in Florida is “Possession of alcoholic beverages by persons under age 21 prohibited”. Under Florida Statute 562.111, it is illegal for someone under 21 years-old to have alcohol in their possession. If you are caught for this misdemeanor in Jacksonville, the police officer will most likely issue a Notice to Appear. This is a piece of paper that instructs you to make a court date for the Jacksonville criminal charge. The paper is given to you in lieu of the officer actually arresting you. If you are issued a Notice to Appear, it still technically is an arrest and will be on your permanent criminal record. That is why it is so important to consult with an experienced Jacksonville Criminal Attorney about your Notice. A Duval County criminal defense attorney can investigate the case and possibly get you into a diversion program, such as the Pretrial Intervention Program, or get the case dropped completely.

Other common crimes people are arrested for at football games in Jacksonville are Disorderly Intoxication, Battery, Disorderly Conduct/Breach of Peace, and Trespassing. You can be arrested for disorderly conduct in Jacksonville if you corrupt the public morals, outrage public decency, or affect the peace and quiet of people who witness your behavior. You can also be arrested for this crime in Jacksonville if you engage in fighting. Disorderly conduct is a second degree misdemeanor in Florida and is punishable by up to 60 days in jail. You can be arrested for battery in Jacksonville if you intentionally touch someone against their will or intentionally harm someone. Battery is a first degree misdemeanor in Florida and if convicted, you will be facing up to one year in jail. Trespass charges in Duval County usually stem from someone acting up on private property and the owner asks that person to leave. If the person comes back onto the property, they can be arrested for trespassing in Jacksonville.

If you are facing any criminal charges in Northeast Florida, contact our Jacksonville Criminal Defense Attorney at (904) 365-5200 for a free consultation. Our criminal lawyer is available 24 hours a day 7 days a week to answer your questions.